In the 2019-20 State Budget, the Victorian Government announced $321.9 million in funding over four years for the Smile Squad school dental program.

Smile Squad will be delivered via up to 250 dental vans, staffed by up to 500 dental health professionals.


The Department of Health works closely with the Department of Education and Dental Health Services Victoria to ensure Smile Squad is delivered safely to all Victorian government primary, secondary and specialist schools.

Smile Squad is committed to the same high standards of safety and quality required of all public dental services. Smile Squad is accredited to all relevant National Safety and Quality Health Service (NSQHS) Standards.

Enhanced infection control measures are in place in all Smile Squad services to ensure the program is COVID safe. All Smile Squad staff meet all COVID-19 guidelines required, including vaccination of staff.

More information

Read the Smile Squad information sheet (PDF) for more detailed information about the program.